Is Your Suffering In Vain


Man thinking on a train journey.
Man thinking on a train journey. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While reading 1 Peter 4: 12-19, it really had me thinking about Christian suffering. My suffering in particular. How many times do I rejoice in the middle of persecution? What are my first reactions when they arise in my life? As I sat down and thought about them, I also had to take the time and think about if the suffering is coming from my walk with Christ or if the sufferings are due to my fleshly desires that I give into. Verse 19 says: So those who suffer according to God’s will should, while doing what is good, entrust themselves to a faithful Creator.

Verse 15 states: None of you, however, should suffer as a murderer, a thief, an evildoer, or a meddler.

This caused some self evaluation and a deep conversation with God to take place. My desire is to live Holy as my creator is Holy. I pray that this causes some of you to think, as it did myself, and causes you to do some self evaluating.

2 thoughts on “Is Your Suffering In Vain

Leave a Reply

